Chief Inspector Gamache Series

Back in 2005, Louise Penny published her first book published that was called Still Life. This introduced the world to her character Chief Inspector Gamache who works for the Surêté du Québec.

This novel met with great success, winning several awards and starting a series that would go on to top the New York Times bestsellers list.

To help make sure that you don’t miss out on any of these stories, on this page you can find a complete list of all the books in the Chief Inspector Gamache series in order by publication date.

In fact, there are two lists – the first contains all of the full-length novels featuring Armand Gamache, while the second contains any other stories in which he appears.

You may also sometimes hear these novels referred to as being part of the Three Pines series; this is because the books are set in a location called Three Pines.

The title of each book links to a page where you can find out the following information:

  • Its release date
  • A description of the novel / novella (don’t worry – there aren’t any spoilers!)
  • An image of the front cover
  • A link to the book on Amazon where you can find reviews or get a copy if you’ve not read it yet (or want to read it again)

To see how these fit in with any other stories that she’s released, check out our separate list of Louise Penny books in chronological order.

Chief Inspector Gamache Series In Order – Full-Length Novels

  1. Still Life
  2. A Fatal Grace
  3. The Cruelest Month
  4. A Rule Against Murder
  5. The Brutal Telling
  6. Bury Your Dead
  7. A Trick Of The Light
  8. The Beautiful Mystery
  9. How The Light Gets In
  10. The Long Way Home
  11. The Nature Of The Beast
  12. A Great Reckoning
  13. Glass Houses

Other Armand Gamache Books

  1. The Hangman