Louise Penny – Still Life

Still Life by Louise Penny was the first novel in her bestselling Chief Inspector Gamache series.

The release date of this story was July 15, 2005 and was subsequently made into a movie starring Nathaniel Parker.

This book went on to win the following awards:

  • Barry Award
  • Anthony Award
  • Dilys Award
  • New Blood Dagger Award
  • Arthur Ellis Award

Still Life book description

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Surêté du Québec and his team of investigators are called in to the scene of a suspicious death in a rural village south of Montreal.

Jane Neal, a local fixture in the tiny hamlet of Three Pines, just north of the U.S. border, has been found dead in the woods. The locals are certain it’s a tragic hunting accident and nothing more, but Gamache smells something foul in these remote woods, and is soon certain that Jane Neal died at the hands of someone much more sinister than a careless bowhunter.

Still Life introduces not only an engaging series hero in Inspector Gamache, who commands his forces – and this series – with integrity and quiet courage, but also a winning and talented new writer of traditional mysteries in the person of Louise Penny.

Louise Penny Still Life

Click the book cover to read reviews of Still Life on Amazon